Starter pack
Best eSIM for Turkey (October 2026): Tested From Istanbul
Best eSIM for Turkey: Simbye, 20 GB for 30 days at $16.15 with code NOMADISTAN15. It is the one store that still works inside Turkey. 19 sites tested, Oct 2026.
Our pick · cheapest 20 GB on this page
Need an eSIM for Turkey? Start with Simbye.
20 GB · 30 days — their best value
$16.15was $18.99 · with your 15% code · checked 18 Oct 2026
Beats Nomad ($20) and Saily ($23), and it is the only store here whose checkout works from inside Turkey. Shorter stay? 10 GB is $10.20.
See Simbye plans · 15% off →Code NOMADISTAN15 applies automatically through our link. Data only, no Turkish number; runs on Türk Telekom, Vodafone and Turkcell. Affiliate link, no extra cost to you.
Short answer: the best eSIM for Turkey is Simbye: 20 GB for 30 days is $16.15 with code NOMADISTAN15 (list price $18.99). It is the only international eSIM store whose checkout we know works from Turkish networks, so you can top up if you run out of data in Turkey. Airalo, Holafly, Saily and Nomad are blocked by BTK inside Turkey: an eSIM installed before landing keeps working, but you cannot buy more data from them once you are here. Need a Turkish +90 number? Get a Türk Telekom, Vodafone or Turkcell tourist eSIM with your passport (Turkcell also sells it online and activates in its app): about 1,000 to 1,500 TRY for 20 to 25 GB, Turkcell 1,800 TRY. Prices checked October 2026.
Every provider’s plans side by side, with a buy-in-Turkey column and the date each price was read: see the table under “Prices, checked on the date shown” below. Prices for 13 providers with the cheapest per GB and a free CSV: see the Turkey eSIM price index, October 2026.
Want to compare first? The options, prices and our Istanbul website checks are below.
The ranking
- Simbye: our pick for buying after arrival or topping up during your stay. $16.15 for 20 GB after our discount, which works out at 81 cents a gigabyte and is the best value they sell. 10 GB is $10.20 for a short stay. Its store and checkout load from Turkish networks, and readers of this guide have been completing orders from inside Turkey every day this week, which is the part no blocked provider can offer. Data only, on Türk Telekom, Vodafone and Turkcell. Use the button above for 15% off.
- Nomad: cheapest per GB if you are buying at home and will not run out. 20 GB for $20, 50 GB for $31 on Türk Telekom. Blocked once you are in Turkey, so size the plan for the whole trip.
- Saily: solid second pre-flight option. 10 GB $15.99, 20 GB $22.99. Its own page warns that the app may not work in Turkey.
- A domestic tourist eSIM from Türk Telekom or Vodafone: best if you need a Turkish number. Roughly 1,000 to 1,500 TRY for 20 to 25 GB with minutes, bought in a shop with your passport. The only route to a +90 number for bank codes and e-Devlet. Turkcell’s tourist line is dearer, 1,800 TRY for 20 GB and 200 minutes, but has the widest coverage; see our Turkcell eSIM guide. Starts the 120-day IMEI clock on a foreign phone; see the SIM and IMEI guide.
- Airalo and Holafly: only if you want unlimited data and do not mind the price. Airalo’s Turkey page opens on unlimited plans, $24.50 for 7 days and $69 for 30; its fixed-data plans include 20 GB for 30 days at $22.50. Holafly is unlimited-only, from $11.90 for 3 days to $73.90 for 30 days. Both blocked inside Turkey. Simbye’s unlimited plans are cheaper: see our unlimited data eSIM comparison.
Most “best eSIM for Turkey” lists are written by people who bought at home and never ran out. That is a real use case and Nomad wins it on price. This page exists for the other one: you are in an Istanbul café, your plan is gone, and every app on your phone is timing out.
See which eSIM stores we could open from Turkey
Turkey eSIM discount codes, October 2026
The code that works from inside Turkey is NOMADISTAN15: 15% off every Simbye Turkey plan. It applies automatically through our Simbye link (affiliate), or type it at checkout.
| Simbye Turkey plan | Normal price | With NOMADISTAN15 |
|---|---|---|
| 1 GB · 7 days | $1.99 | $1.70 |
| 5 GB | $5.99 | $5.10 |
| 10 GB · 30 days | $11.99 | $10.20 |
| 20 GB · 30 days | $18.99 | $16.15 |
Dollar prices re-read on Simbye’s own Turkey page on 18 October 2026: all four plans above unchanged. With-code prices take 15% off the list price; the discount amount is rounded down to the cent, so $18.99 becomes $16.15.
Codes for blocked stores only work before you fly. Airalo, Holafly, Nomad and Saily all publish discount codes, but their websites and apps timed out on our Istanbul test. Once you are in Turkey you cannot reach their checkout, so the code is useless there. If you are still at home, their codes are worth using; if you have already landed, the only discount you can actually spend is the Simbye one.
Website access from our Istanbul connection
Our checks on 10 September and 1 October 2026 covered 19 international eSIM stores and 3 Turkish operators. Four international sites and all three domestic sites loaded on our connection. A website loading does not establish that checkout, installation or mobile data will work. Separate reports describe Simbye purchases and top-ups from Turkey; we have not verified every network or payment method.
Website check: 10 September 2026, from a Türk Telekom connection in Istanbul. Permanent link:nomadistanbul.com/kb/best-esim-for-turkey/#reach
| Store | Website check result | Purchase evidence | Turkish network | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simbyesimbye.com | Yes, 1s | yes | Türk Telekom, Vodafone | Website loaded. Separate editorial reports describe purchases and top-ups from Turkey; payment methods and mobile performance are not established by this website check. Code NOMADISTAN15 offers 15% off. |
| Breezebreezesim.com | Yes, 0.7s | untested | Not stated | Site loads and lists regional Travel Pass plans that include Turkey. Checkout from Turkey not tested. |
| Truelytruely.com | Yes, 0.7s | untested | Not stated | Site loads. Unlimited-data plans only; no Turkey-specific page found. |
| Firstyfirsty.app | Yes, 0.3s | untested | Not stated | Homepage loads; plans live in the app. Free tier is throttled. Not tested from Turkey. |
| Airaloairalo.com | No, timed out | untested | Türk Telekom | Blocked by BTK since 10 July 2025. Works if installed before landing. |
| Holaflyesim.holafly.com | No, timed out | untested | Turkcell, Türk Telekom | Blocked since 10 July 2025. |
| Sailysaily.com | No, timed out | untested | Not disclosed | Blocked since 10 July 2025. |
| Nomadgetnomad.app | No, timed out | untested | Türk Telekom | Blocked since 10 July 2025. |
| Instabridgeinstabridge.com | No, timed out | untested | Not stated | Blocked since 10 July 2025. |
| MobiMattermobimatter.com | No, timed out | untested | Varies | Blocked since 10 July 2025. |
| aloSIMalosim.com | No, timed out | untested | Not stated | Blocked since 10 July 2025. |
| BNESIMbnesim.com | No, timed out | untested | Not stated | Blocked since 10 July 2025. |
| Yesimyesim.app | No, timed out | untested | Not disclosed | Timed out on this connection despite the provider's statement that it partly works; other networks unconfirmed. |
| Ubigiubigi.com | No, timed out | untested | Not stated | |
| Jetpacjetpacglobal.com | No, timed out | untested | Not stated | |
| Maya Mobilemaya.net | No, timed out | untested | Not stated | |
| GigSkygigsky.com | No, timed out | untested | Not stated | |
| Flexiroamflexiroam.com | No, timed out | untested | Not stated | |
| Roamlessroamless.com | No, timed out | untested | Turkcell | |
| Turkcell (domestic)turkcell.com.tr | Yes, 0.5s | in store | Own | Tourist eSIM issued in a shop with your passport. Includes a Turkish number. |
| Vodafone Türkiye (domestic)vodafone.com.tr | Yes, 0.2s | in store | Own | Tourist eSIM issued in a shop with your passport. |
| Türk Telekom (domestic)turktelekom.com.tr | Yes, 1.9s | in store | Own | Tourist eSIM issued in a shop with your passport. |
Method: Website-access checks recorded on 8 September 2026: each homepage and Turkey plan page requested over HTTPS from one Türk Telekom fixed line in Istanbul, with a mobile user agent and a 25-second timeout. 'loads' means a response within 5 seconds; 'unreachable' means timeout or reset on this connection, not proof of a nationwide regulatory block. These checks do not establish checkout, payment acceptance, installation, activation, coverage or data speed. Prices were read from provider pages; inaccessible pages were read from outside Turkey. Monthly rechecks are planned.
Two findings from the 1 October test worth stating plainly. First, Yesim timed out on our connection despite its own statement that it partly works; availability on other networks is unconfirmed. Second, four smaller stores load: Breeze, Truely, Firsty and, for now, Simbye. Our editorial record reports checkout and reader purchases for Simbye; checkout for the other three providers is untested. Website access does not test payment acceptance, eSIM installation, activation, mobile coverage or data speed.
Prices, checked on the date shown
| Provider | Plan | Price | Per GB | Buy in Turkey | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simbye | 10 GB / 30 days | $11.99; $10.20 with NOMADISTAN15 | $1.20, $1.02 with code | yes | 18 Oct 2026, provider page (USD) |
| Simbye | 20 GB / 30 days | $18.99; $16.15 with NOMADISTAN15 — best value per GB | $0.95, $0.81 with code | yes | 18 Oct 2026, provider page (USD) |
| Simbye | 1 GB / 7 days | $1.99; $1.70 with NOMADISTAN15 | $1.99, $1.70 with code | yes | 18 Oct 2026, provider page (USD) |
| Simbye | Unlimited / 30 days | $49.99; $42.50 with NOMADISTAN15 | — | yes | 18 Oct 2026, provider page (USD) |
| Nomad | 10 GB / 30 days | $13 (on sale from $15) | $1.30 | no | 18 Oct 2026, provider page, from abroad |
| Nomad | 20 GB / 30 days | $20 | $1.00 | no | 18 Oct 2026, provider page, from abroad |
| Nomad | 50 GB / 30 days | $31 | $0.62 | no | 18 Oct 2026, provider page, from abroad |
| Saily | 10 GB / 30 days | $15.99 | $1.60 | no | 18 Oct 2026, provider page, from abroad |
| Saily | 20 GB / 30 days | $22.99 | $1.15 | no | 18 Oct 2026, provider page, from abroad |
| Saily | Unlimited / 15 days | $48.99 | — | no | 24 Sep 2026, from abroad |
| Airalo | Unlimited / 7 days | $24.50 | — | no | 18 Oct 2026, provider page (USD) |
| Airalo | Unlimited / 30 days | $69 | — | no | 18 Oct 2026, provider page (USD) |
| Airalo | 20 GB / 30 days | $22.50 | $1.13 | no | 18 Oct 2026, provider page (USD) |
| Holafly | Unlimited, 3 to 30 days | $11.90 (3 days) to $73.90 (30 days) | — | no | 18 Oct 2026, provider page (USD) |
| Türk Telekom tourist eSIM | About 25 GB + minutes, Turkish number | About 1,000 TRY (about $21) | $0.85 | in store | 3 Sep 2026, in store |
| Vodafone Türkiye tourist eSIM | About 20 GB + 750 min, Turkish number | About 1,300 to 1,500 TRY ($28 to $32) | $1.50 | in store | 3 Sep 2026, in store |
Simbye prices display in euros from a Turkish IP; the dollar figures are its own conversion. Nomad, Saily, Airalo and Holafly were read from outside Turkey on the same day, since their pages do not load here. Prices move; the date column is the promise.
How to choose in 30 seconds
- Landing in under a week, buying now at home: Nomad 20 GB or Saily 10 GB. Install and activate before departure. Do not expect to top up.
- Staying weeks, or not sure how much data you need: Simbye, because it is the one you can top up from an Istanbul sofa. Buy the 10 GB, add more when you need it.
- Need a Turkish number for a bank, a lease or deliveries: domestic tourist eSIM in a shop, with your passport. Keep a travel eSIM for data if you want to avoid the IMEI clock on your main phone.
- Already here with a dead Airalo: Simbye from the phone you are holding. It works over the hotel Wi-Fi.
- Coming from the UK and wondering about roaming instead: most UK plans charge £6 to £8 a day in Turkey. Check yours: EE, O2, or every UK network compared.
What BTK actually blocked
The block hits the storefronts, apps and activation servers of the named providers, not eSIM technology and not the Turkish networks they ride on. That is why an Airalo profile installed at home keeps working for its full validity, and why the same Airalo app cannot sell you a top-up once you are here. The three waves, with decision numbers, are on the blocked-in-Turkey timeline. The full story of the block and the day-one checklist is in the Turkey eSIM after the BTK block guide. Every figure from our tests, dated and quotable, is on the Turkey eSIM and internet statistics 2026 page.
Test log
18 October 2026
- Re-read Simbye (USD page), Airalo (USD), Saily, Nomad and Holafly on each provider's own Turkey page. Simbye, Saily, Airalo and Holafly prices unchanged. Nomad (USD price data on its Turkey page): 10 GB $13 (on sale from $15), 20 GB $20, 50 GB $31; 20 GB still $20. Saily's Unlimited 15 days ($48.99) was not re-read and keeps its 24 Sep date.
24 September 2026
- Corrected two with-code prices to match Simbye's checkout, which rounds the 15% discount down to the cent: 1 GB is $1.70 (not $1.69) and Unlimited 7 days is $17.00 (not $16.99).
- Rechecked other stores' prices from outside Turkey. Holafly's 30-day unlimited is $73.90 (we had about $47), and its 3-day plan is $11.90; the old 'from €3.79 a day' was its most expensive daily rate, not its cheapest. Saily's $48.99 unlimited plan is 15 days, not 30. Airalo also sells fixed-data plans: 20 GB for 30 days is $22.50. Nomad 50 GB corrected to $31 on the BTK page.
22 September 2026
- Prices rechecked on each store's own Turkey page (read from outside Turkey; no new network-access test). Simbye: 1 GB now $1.99 (was $2.29), 10 GB, 20 GB and Unlimited 30 days unchanged; Unlimited 7 days lists at $19.99, $17.00 with the code. Simbye's plan page now lists Turkcell as well as Türk Telekom and Vodafone.
- Nomad: 20 GB unchanged at $20, 10 GB now $13 on sale, 50 GB now $31, 5 GB now $9. Saily: 20 GB unchanged at $22.99, 5 GB $9.99.
- Per-GB figures recalculated from the listed prices.
11 September 2026
- Simbye prices replaced with the exact checkout totals, read from its own cart with NOMADISTAN15 applied rather than converted from the euro list price.
- 20 GB at $16.15 is 81 cents a gigabyte, their cheapest tier for a normal trip, and undercuts their own Unlimited 7 Days at $17.00.
10 September 2026
- Retested all 22 stores from a Türk Telekom line in Istanbul. No change: Simbye, Breeze, Truely and Firsty load; the 15 international stores all time out at 25 s; the three domestic operators load.
- Simbye prices unchanged on its plan page: 10 GB €11.95, 20 GB €17.95, 50 GB €36.95.
9 September 2026
- Editorial correction only; no new network test. Clarified 19 international stores plus 3 domestic operators, separated website reachability from regulatory status and purchase evidence.
8 September 2026
- First published test: 22 stores probed from a Türk Telekom line in Istanbul. 15 international stores time out; Simbye, Breeze, Truely and Firsty load; the three domestic operators load.
- Prices: Simbye read from Istanbul (shown in euros here), Nomad, Saily, Airalo and Holafly read from outside Turkey the same day. Airalo's Turkey page now shows only unlimited plans on its default view.
Cite or embed this data
The reachability table is free to reuse with a link (CC BY 4.0). Machine-readable copy with the last check date: /data/turkey-esim.json
<p>Source: <a href="https://nomadistanbul.com/kb/best-esim-for-turkey/">Best eSIM for Turkey, tested from Istanbul</a> (Nomad Istanbul), last tested 10 September 2026. Data: <a href="https://nomadistanbul.com/data/turkey-esim.json">JSON</a>.</p>Frequently asked questions
Simbye vs Saily for Turkey: which is better?
Simbye for most trips. A 20 GB / 30 day plan is $18.99 on Simbye against $22.99 on Saily (both read on each provider's own page on 18 October 2026). The bigger gap is what happens after you land: Simbye's store loads from Turkish networks, so you can top up in Turkey, while Saily's own plan page warns that its app may be limited in Turkey and BTK blocks its site. Saily is a fine choice if you buy and install at home, you will not need more data, and you like its app and 3% credit back.
Simbye vs Holafly for Turkey: which is better?
Holafly only sells unlimited plans for Turkey: $11.90 for 3 days up to $73.90 for 30 days (read 18 October 2026). Simbye sells fixed plans from 1 GB (20 GB for 30 days is $18.99), and its unlimited 30 day plan lists at 47.95 euros, with a fair-use limit of 2 GB a day at full speed and 1 Mbps after that. Holafly suits you if you want no data counting at all and buy before you fly; Holafly's site is blocked in Turkey, so you cannot top up there. If 20 GB covers your month, Simbye costs a fraction of that.
What is the best eSIM for Turkey in 2026?
Simbye, for most trips: it is the international provider in this comparison for which we have reported checkout evidence from Turkey, so you can top up if you run out. Holafly is unlimited-only for Turkey, and Airalo's 20 GB plan costs more ($22.50). If you need a Turkish phone number, none of these work; buy a tourist eSIM in a Türk Telekom or Vodafone shop.
Is there a discount code for a Turkey eSIM?
Yes. NOMADISTAN15 takes 15% off Simbye's Turkey eSIMs: 5 GB is $5.10 instead of $5.99, 10 GB is $10.20 instead of $11.99, and 20 GB for 30 days is $16.15 instead of $18.99 (checked 18 October 2026). It is the one Turkey eSIM code you can still use after you land, because Simbye's store loads from Turkish networks. Codes for Airalo, Holafly, Nomad and Saily only help if you buy before you fly: their stores time out inside Turkey, so you cannot reach the checkout to enter them.
Can I use an Airalo or Holafly discount code in Turkey?
Only before you arrive. Airalo, Holafly, Nomad and Saily are among the eSIM stores BTK blocked, and on our 10 September and 1 October 2026 tests from an Istanbul Türk Telekom line their websites timed out. Buy and install at home if you want to use their codes. Once you are in Turkey, Simbye's checkout is the one that still loads.
Which eSIM providers are blocked in Turkey?
On our 10 September and 1 October 2026 tests from a Türk Telekom line in Istanbul, the websites of Airalo, Holafly, Saily, Nomad, Instabridge, MobiMatter, aloSIM, BNESIM, Yesim, Ubigi, Jetpac, Maya, GigSky, Flexiroam and Roamless all timed out. BTK blocked about 37 international eSIM stores in three waves between 10 July and 15 September 2025. A plan installed before you land keeps working; you just cannot buy or top up from inside Turkey.
Does Airalo work in Turkey?
The eSIM works if you installed and activated it before arriving. The Airalo website and app do not load from Turkish networks, so you cannot buy a plan or top up once you are in Turkey. See the Airalo guide for the workarounds.
Can I buy an eSIM after arriving in Turkey?
Yes, from Simbye, whose store loads from Turkish networks and for which we have reported purchases from inside Turkey, or from a Turkcell, Vodafone or Türk Telekom shop with your passport. Breeze, Truely and Firsty's sites also load from Turkey but we have not tested their checkout.
Disclosure
The Simbye links on this page are affiliate links; we earn a commission at no change to your price, and the code is a real 15% off. Nomad, Saily, Airalo and Holafly links are not affiliate links. The reachability test is ours, run from our own connection on the date shown, and we rank blocked providers above unblocked ones wherever price makes them the better buy for someone shopping at home.
Sources
- Medyascope · BTK blocks first 8 eSIM providers (10 July 2025) verified 8 Sept 2026
- Saily · Turkey eSIM plan page (prices and in-app access warning) verified 18 Oct 2026
- Nomad · Turkey eSIM plan page verified 18 Oct 2026
- Airalo · Turkey eSIM plan page verified 18 Oct 2026
- Simbye · Turkey eSIM plan page verified 18 Oct 2026
- Holafly · Turkey eSIM plan page verified 18 Oct 2026
Read next
- Holafly Turkey 2026: Prices, the BTK Block, and Whether It Still WorksHolafly's Turkey eSIM works if you buy and install it before you fly, but its app and site are blocked in Turkey.…
- Turkey eSIM and Internet Block Statistics 2026Dated numbers on Turkey's eSIM and internet blocks: 15 of 19 international eSIM stores unreachable from Istanbul,…
- Simbye Discount Code NOMADISTAN15: 15% Off Turkey eSIM (Oct 2026)NOMADISTAN15 takes 15% off every Simbye Turkey eSIM plan. 20 GB is $16.15 with the code. Prices checked 13 October…
- Turkey eSIM Block (2026): What Still Works After BTK Blocked 37 StoresAiralo, Holafly, Saily and Nomad are blocked in Turkey (tested Oct 2026). Simbye still works: 20 GB, 30 days, $16.15…
- Turkcell Tourist eSIM: Buy Online Before You Arrive, Price 1,800 TRY (Oct 2026)Turkcell now sells its tourist eSIM online: 20 GB, 200 minutes, 1,800 TRY for 28 days. Apply from abroad with your…